C W Lovatt

Parent page: Publications

C. W. Lovatt lives in Canada where it’s quite cold.

The Adventures of Charlie Smithers was his debut novel, but don’t hold that against him.  His second novel is Josiah Stubb: The Siege of Louisbourg.

“C.W. Lovatt possesses incredible talent, and it is my unreserved opinion that Josiah Stubb: The Siege of Louisbourg deserves a prominent place on any history buff’s bookshelf.” ~ The Winnipeg Review 

“Fans of C. S. Forster’s Horatio Hornblower and Bernard Cornwell’s Richard Sharpe will love it!” 

The Adventures of Charlie Smithers

 Harry Flashman, step aside, old son. Make way for Charlie Smithers.

The time is the nineteenth century. The place, the Serengeti Plain, where one Charlie Smithers – faithful manservant to the arrogant bone-head, Lord Brampton (with five lines in Debrett, and a hopeless shot to boot) – becomes separated from his master during an unfortunate episode with an angry rhinoceros, thereby launching Charlie on an odyssey into Deepest Darkest Africa, and subsequently into the arms of the beautiful Loiyan…and that’s where the trouble really begins.

Maasai warriors, xenophobic locals, or evil Arab slavers, the two forbidden lovers encounter everything that the unforgiving jungle can throw at them.

Amazon UK

Amazon US

.

Charlie Smithers: Adventures in India

Book 2 of the best-selling Charlie Smithers Collection

Flashman’s alter ego returns!

Four years after Charlie returns from Africa, having survived a charging rhinoceros, ravenous crocodiles, fierce Maasai warriors, and evil slavers (not to mention inadvertently discovering the source of the Nile,) we find him in India. Yes, that’s right, his master, Lord Brampton, accompanied by his beloved guns, appalling aim, and the ever-faithful Charlie Smithers, has decided to go adventuring again.

Unfortunately not everything goes according to plan and, in an effort to prevent a war, our hero finds himself on a madcap expedition to the reclusive kingdom of Bhutan, saving the life of the ravishing Charula Khaur along the way.

With (amongst other things) ferocious tigers, sweltering jungle, snow-packed mountains, hostile natives, and the undying gratitude of a beautiful woman, Charlie has his work cut out for him!

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Charlie Smithers: Adventures DownunderCharlie Smithers 3 Downunder sml

Book 3 of the best-selling Charlie Smithers Collection

Flashman never experienced anything like this, not even remotely!

Whether it’s because of his gift of the ‘sight,’ inherited from his dour old Hebridean mum, or simply a sorely battered noggin (a result of his master’s appalling aim)the Australias hold one of Charlie Smithers’ most intriguing adventures to date.
Pirates, great white sharks, mermaids, scorching deserts, cannibals and a small army of sadistic bushrangers are only part of the story. A mysterious gunslinging sheila with emerald green eyes, and a shocking vocabulary, is another adventure all on its own.

And throughout the tale there is the innocuous message from a ghost from Charlie’s past: “You must learn to forgive…”

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Josiah Stubb: The Siege of Louisbourg

It is 1758 and The Seven Years War is raging. The military might of the British and French empires collide in a desperate bid to control the key strategic Fortress of Louisbourg and, in turn, Quebec and French-held North America.

One man caught amidst the bloodshed is the young grenadier, Josiah Stubb. Raised by a whore amidst poverty and incest, Josiah seemed doomed from birth to a life in the gutter. His attempt to leave his sordid past behind leads him to Louisbourg, but it comes back to haunt him in the form of a gifted officer, battling his own inner demons.

As the siege blazes towards its inevitable bloody climax, will Josiah live to overcome the formidable obstacles that keep him chained to his past, or will his aspirations for a better life die with him on the brooding shores of Ile Royale?

Amazon UK

Amazon US

And Then It Rained by C W Lovatt

And Then It Rained

From the best-selling author of the Charlie Smithers books, a collection of award-winning short stories.

Rain, that natural wonder, so natural, in fact that often it comes and goes scarcely noticed. However, metaphorical or otherwise, there are times when rain brings with it great change, causing the breath-taking beauty of rainbows or the cataclysmic destruction of floods, with equal indifference. This collection – an eclectic mix of humour, drama, and fantasy – is about those uncertain times. Dark clouds are forming, so you had better be prepared for the coming storm…

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Welcome , today is Sunday, October 22, 2017